Inside the Decaying Amato Opera House on the Bowery [EXCLUSIVE]

Posted on: June 20th, 2013 at 5:22 am by

amato-opera-2_wm

Nearly every news source that wrote about the closing of Amato Opera House used the following words: “sad,” loss,” “shame,” “devastating,” and so on.

Take a look at what this gem used to look like. From Playbill.com:

Amato, founder of the Amato Opera Theatre, a scrappy cultural landmark on the Bowery for decades, died Dec. 13. The cause was cancer. He was 91.

Antinio Amato was born on July 21, 1920, in Minori, on the Amalfi Coast, in Italy. He moved to New Haven with his family when he was seven. Smitten with opera, he left a job as a butcher to perform with regional and summer stock opera companies. He ran an opera workshop at the American Theatre Wing, where many of his students were returning servicemen. He conceived Amato Opera to give them a place to perform, reported the New York Times. Its first opera was Rossini’s Barber of Seville. It opened on Sept. 12, 1948, in the basement of Our Lady of Pompeii Church in Greenwich Village. The troupe moved into its Bowery home in 1964.

Mr. Amato this year published a memoir, “The Smallest Grand Opera in the World.” Mrs. [Sally] Amato died in 2000, at 82; Mr. Amato disbanded the company in 2009. He sold the four-story building the opera worked out of for $3.7 million—a mark of how the once run-down neighborhood had changed from a place that could support a quixotic enterprise like Amato into a trendy and costly hot spot.

Bowery Boogie was granted exclusive (and extremely dangerous) access inside this decaying cultural landmark at 319 Bowery. A photo op we just couldn’t pass up. We were told on our visit – “hey, at least they’re not tearing it down.”

Right. Round of applause for small favors. No wrecking balls here; just giant sledgehammers.

The photos published below will not be easy to stomach if you loved Amato as much as we did.

The current owner, Steven Croman, plans to turn this historic structure (built in 1899) into residential units for “hedge-funders on the upper floors [plus penthouse] and one massive retail store” where the stage, orchestra pit, entrance and backstage are now.

One tremendous remnant was the day planner from 1963/1964 that fell out from behind one of the remaining pianos. Also, trust me when I tell you this – physically, no one remains, but spiritually? Whomever moves in is going to have one hell of a time.

Rest in pieces, Amato. The crowd gathered outside the door to peer inside elicited stories of experiences there and that alone reveals your indelible mark on the great Bouwerie Lane.

Recent Stories

SDLES_legal_3Languages
Paths to Pier 42 ‘Social Dress Lower East Side’ Workshops Start Today

Paths to Pier 42 has a summer stacked with creative programing for the neighborhood. Thanks to support from the Lower Manhattan Cultural Council, as well as other LES-based community organizations, the latest “Social Dress Lower East Side – Material Memories” is happening. What exactly does that entail? Artist Takashi Horisaki is hosting a series of […]

james-fuentes-expansion
James Fuentes Gallery is Expanding Its Showroom on Delancey

The James Fuentes Gallery moved to 55 Delancey Street in the fall of 2010. It arrived an immigrant on the Lower East Side from the shores of St. James Place. Operating a subtle showroom the last four years, time has come for an expansion. It appears they’ve just annexed the adjancent space, previously home to […]

whole foods passed out
Visual Artists Sought for Pop-Up Gallery Inside Bowery Whole Foods

The Lower East Side BID is joining forces with the Bowery Whole Foods to create a pop-up gallery on its second floor. Submissions are currently sought from “visual artists” who have some connection to the neighborhood. A “community” panel will then choose five winners from the pack, whose work will appear inside the grocery for […]

Photo: Lambert Jack
‘Killer Queen’ 10-Player Arcade Game Holding Court at 26 Clinton Street

Drop of a hat, 26 Clinton is as playful as a pussycat. Here at the former tattoo studio of Bang Bang, the Killer Queen arcade experience is holding court. Boogie reader Lambert Jack snapped this photo of the twin cabinets sitting by their lonesome in the white-box space. We are told that this is a […]

kenmare-nude
Neighbors Irked by Penis in the Window of 52 Kenmare [NSFW]

The Rivington Design House – no longer on its namesake street – is making waves. Their new headquarters at 52 Kenmare Street currently boasts a poster of a naked man in the window. Flaccid penis and all. The public nudity display is actually part of Bek Andersen’s gallery installation at the Rivington Design House called […]